top of page

How do I restrict people from downloading a Google Doc I have shared?

In Google Docs you have the option to restrict Downloading, Printing & Copying in the sharing settings.


What is the benefit of this?

This is useful if you want users to be able to edit a document but you don't want them creating a copy of the document, or downloading it and printing it. It gives you more control over the documents you send.


How do I do this?


Step #1 - Click 'Share' in the top right of your Google Doc

In the top right of your Google Doc screen click the light blue 'Share' button.


The image shows the toolbar of a Google Doce


The blue share button in a Google Doc


Step #2 - Open the further Share settings

Click on the settings cog in the top right of the share window.


The share box in a Google Doc

Step #3 - Make it personal

Untick the box to disable the option for users to download, print or copy the doc.


The advanced share settings box in a Google Doc

You can change these settings at any time, just follow the steps above.


For more Google Workspace tips click here!

Comments


Recent Posts
bottom of page